Yes. 

If the event or event role the volunteer signed up for is canceled, they will get a signupConfirm notification letting them know.  Depending on the user's notification permissions, this could be sent as an email or SMS/text message (or both).  For recurring events, we will only send out cancellation emails for events in the upcoming 90 days.